The Sound Factory is an interactive seedbed for sound art and creativity, an auditory voyage of discovery spread over the Lantern Tower’s fifth floor and roof terrace. Experimenting, experiencing and composing, everything is – literally – at your fingertips: from bronze carillon bells to digital sound labs, from beats and samples to ethereal sound frequencies. The Sound Factory offers a mix of installations, with which you can create your own sounds: not hackneyed old pop tunes, but your very own intriguing and inspiring creations.

Klankentoren | Aernoudt Jacobs

(c) Paul Willaert

In the corner of this roof terrace stands the Klankentoren - the Tower of Sound - an installation created by Aernoudt Jacobs. Not only does it allow you to listen to all the bells of the city, it also - and above all - allows you to create and manipulate your own sound sculptures. The interactive Klankentoren contains 150 bell sounds, taken from the bells of the Belfry and the other Bruges towers. These were recorded and inventoried by the Bruges Cultural Heritage Unit.

You operate the Klankentoren via its built-in touch screen. This has a keyboard and an overview of all the available sounds. It also allows you to adjust the volume, pitch and amplitude of the samples and even the speed of the rotating elements.

Carillon bells

(c) Paul Willaert

The 21 carillon bells you see here on the roof terrace used to hang in the Bruges Belfry. They were cast in 1969, in bronze, by the bell foundry Horacantus-Eijsbouts (Lokeren, BE / Asten, NL) to replace carillon bells cast by Marcel Michiels (in 1939) and Joris Dumery (between 1742-1748). In 2010 these 21 bells – the smallest bells of the Belfry carillon – were replaced with new ones that fit in perfectly with the carillon’s 18th century Dumery bells. Their weight varies from 13.5 to 59 kg. And their pitches range from soh to doh. In total the Bruges Belfry carillon has 47 bells, weighing a total of 28 tons.

The 21 bells – almost two chromatic scales – are hanging in two groups: one horizontal, pitched from low to high; and one in a spiral-shaped scale, with the lowest notes at the bottom. Play the bells by striking them with the various objects, mallets or jazz brushes. Draw inspiration from the view, the echoes of the bells and the echoes of the city. Go for a spectacular solo performance, or get together with others and create a new group composition.

Refrakt | Esther Venrooy & Olivier Goethals

(c) Paul Willaert

Here in the Sound Factory staircase we find Refrakt, the audiovisual installation created by Esther Venrooy (sound artist) and Olivier Goethals (architect).

During their first visit to the Lantern Tower, the staircase seemed to them to be merely a typical sequence of levels. But later, during a second investigation of the space, Venrooy and Goethals observed the spatial contrasts and auditory qualities: the incidence of light, the effect of shadow, solidity, resonance and radical differences in height.

Using the ‘point-line-plane’ method, Refrakt takes the function of the staircase and reconstructs it auditorily. Loudspeakers are placed in certain carefully chosen places and connected to each other by lines. The designers selected existing planes and used reflection and projection to create a new auditory and architectural interpretation of the space.

CYBERCORNER

(c) Paul Willaert

Use the music software on the Sound Factory iMacs Create to create soundscapes. This software is all you need to start experimenting and composing, either alone or with a friend. Novice or sound technician, after five minutes everyone will have mastered it.

OMNI | Patrice Moullet

This colourful sound installation is the brainchild of Patrice Moullet. The OMNI looks like a brightly coloured mushroom, with 108 enamel plates that each respond to your touch differently and each have their own unique sound. The installation holds an enormous database of sounds. Percussion, brass instruments, synthesisers, spacey electronic sounds and analogue bits and bleeps: a vast sound spectrum awaits your instructions. Look for patterns or combinations and create your own compositions. Thanks to the wide selection of sounds the ensemble options are endless.

The OMNI had a somewhat difficult birth. It took 23 years of intense research and several prototypes and tests before its design was finally perfected. The resulting sound installation is a seamless fusion of creativity, technology, functionality and design. Its 108 enamel plates are actually a specialised interface that controls samplers, synthesisers, hardware and software.

Kilo Ohm | Erwin Stache

There is electricity in the air! Erwin Stache’s six, seemingly banal metal tubes will set your fingertips tingling with musical delight. In Kilo Ohm sound and movement go hand in hand. Literally. Its tubes respond to the electrical resistance of the human skin; the slightest touch produces a specific sound. Because this resistance is highly individual and differs from person to person, the result is also always different.

Experiment with gentle, nimble-fingered taps, a sudden firm grip or a big full-on squeeze. You will immediately hear the difference. Play with a few friends and hear what happens when you also touch each other. Whether you use Kilo Ohm as a piano, a drum kit or a mix of hypnotic sounds, you control the tubes and you explore their enormous sound potential.

Workshops

A workshop consists of two parts: an audio tour of the Concertgebouw and a hands-on session in the Sound Factory. Both are tailored to the participants’ age group. A full workshop (audio tour + hands-on session) lasts a good two hours. Before the visit teachers will receive a teaching package containing info about the development, function and architecture of the Concertgebouw. This material is best reviewed before the visit. The package also contains entertaining sound-based activities for post-visit work in the classroom.

Audio tour of the Concertgebouw

The tour starts in the Chamber Music Hall, where the group are given an idea of the importance of acoustics and of the function and operation of the Concertgebouw. A rhythmic exercise – an introduction to composition - provides the basis for the hands-on sessions that follow. In the Foyer Parterre, participants then perform a number of experiments: to explore the vibration and propagation of sound and the effect of height difference, for instance. Attention will also be focussed on differences in sound perception.

The tour then proceeds to the Concert Hall. Here the guide gives the group some interesting facts about this impressive space. The group then explore its acoustics and listening experience. Via the glass lift, they then move to the Parterre Balcony. At the large panoramic window, the guide introduces the concept of sound fields and explains the various sound zones of a city - an ideal preamble to a talk about how sound artists past and present have worked and are working with sound. Xenakis’ CONCRET PH and Edgard Varèse’s Poème Electronique provide the perfect soundtrack to this. These two short works from the early days of sound art plunge participants into the world of samples and concrete sounds. They also provide a perfect auditory and visual link between sound and architecture. To close their experience-tour the group then go up to the roof terrace. The contrast between the inside sounds they have experienced intensely during the past hour and the outside sounds they now hear from the roof terrace could not be greater.

Hands-on sessions in the Sound Factory

There are three elements to these hands-on sessions: the CyberCorner, the Kilo Ohm and the OMNI. So that everyone can experience each element in full, the group is split into three subgroups: One subgroup goes to the Cybercorner and works with the music programme GarageBand. The other two subgroups focus on the Kilo Ohm and the OMNI. After a while the subgroups switch, so that each subgroup gets to experience everything.

CyberCorner

In pairs or individually, the participants work on a soundscape. They are led in this by the music programme GarageBand. If necessary, the workshop leader will help children to select sounds, to listen or to click on something. Older children work as independently as possible. With them, the workshop leader only plays a supportive role. The children can experiment with sound clips, sound filters, echoes and the adding of patterns and rhythms with a keyboard.

Kilo Ohm

Here participants can experiment to their hearts´ content. What do you hear when you touch? How does the sound change? What does it sound like when you hold on to somebody, or on to the whole group? They then explore patterns, rhythm, length and intensity. If there is any time left, they will develop a joint sound composition.

OMNI

With the OMNI participants first experiment and then compose. They start with a repetitive pattern, to which they then add new layers, patterns or accents. There are countless possibilities. Various audio data bases create distinctly different atmospheres: vocals, world music, jazz, synthesisers ... Perfect for an auditory trip.

Bruggemuseum - Lantaarntoren

Bruggemuseum – Lantaarntoren, Concertgebouw Brugge ’t Zand 34, 8000 Brugge

Individual visit

Open: every day from 9.30AM to 5PM.
Closed on Monday

Tickets

Admission: € 6 / € 5 (discount) / -26 years: € 1 / -6 years: free
Free for citizens of Bruges, for school groups from primary and secondary schools and their supervisors
(1 per 15 pupils), and for students at a Bruges college of higher or adult education.

Book your tickets online

Workshops

Children and adolescents, -26 years: € 65 per group (maximum 25)
Only on Monday: 9.30AM – 11.35AM and 1.30PM – 3.30PM

Adolescents: € 150 per group (maximum 15)
possible as from January 2013

Info and registration via educatie@concertgebouw.be or +32 70 22 33 02 (Mon-Fri, from 4PM to 6.30PM)

Nieuws

Officiële opening op zondag 09.10.2011, van 10.30 ? 18.00 uur.
More info

Footer Concertgebouw Musea brugge bruggemuseum erfgoedcelbrugge musica vlaanderen vlaanderen brugge

La Sound Factory est un foyer interactif d’art sonore et de créativité, une véritable exploration auditive répartie entre le toit-terrasse et le cinquième niveau de la Lantaarntoren. Expérimenter, apprendre et composer, tout est – littéralement – à portée de main. Des cloches de carillon en bronze au laboratoire sonore numérique, des beats et samples aux fréquences sonores rares : la Sound Factory offre un mélange d’installations avec lesquelles vous pourrez réaliser vos créations. Et pas un tube pop remâché, mais bien des créations uniques qui intriguent et inspirent.


Klankentoren | Aernoudt Jacobs

(c) Paul Willaert

Ce toit-terrasse abrite dans un coin la Klankentoren, une installation réalisée par Aernoudt Jacobs. Vous pouvez y écouter toutes les cloches de la ville de Bruges, mais aussi – et surtout – créer vos propres sculptures et manipulations sonores. Cette « tour des sons » interactive rassemble 150 sons de cloches provenant du beffroi et d’autres tours de Bruges, enregistrés et inventoriés par la cellule Patrimoine de Bruges.

Vous pouvez manipuler la tour des sons par l’intermédiaire de l’écran tactile intégré. Outre le clavier et un aperçu de tous les bruits disponibles, vous pouvez aussi adapter le volume, la hauteur tonale et l’amplitude des samples, et même la vitesse de rotation des éléments rotatifs.

Carillon

(c) Paul Willaert

Les 21 cloches en bronze du carillon du toit-terrasse étaient précédemment suspendues dans la tour du beffroi de Bruges. Fondues en 1969 par la fonderie Horacantus-Eijsbouts (Lokeren, BE / Asten, NL), elles ont servi à remplacer plusieurs cloches du carillon réalisées par Marcel Michiels (1939) et Joris Dumery (1742-1748). En 2010, ces 21 clochettes du carillon du beffroi ont été déposées et remplacées par de nouveaux exemplaires en parfaite harmonie avec la série historique du XVIIIe siècle de Dumery. Leur poids varie entre 13,5 et 59 kg. Les hauteurs de note vont du sol au do. Le carillon de Bruges compte au total 47 cloches, d’un poids total de 28 tonnes.

Les 21 cloches, réunissant presque deux gammes chromatiques, sont suspendues en une série allant du grave à l’aigu, selon une échelle hélicoïdale, les notes les plus graves étant situées en bas. Jouez les cloches à l’aide de différents objets, maillets ou balais. Laissez-vous inspirer par le panorama et les échos des cloches et de la ville. Lancez-vous dans une représentation solo spectaculaire ou créez sur place une nouvelle composition de groupe.

Refrakt | Esther Venrooy & Olivier Goethals

(c) Paul Willaert

Dans la cage d’escalier de la Sound Factory, vous vous trouvez face à Refrakt, l’installation audiovisuelle d’Esther Venrooy (artiste sonore) et d’Olivier Goethals (architecte).

Lors de leur première visite à la Lantaarntoren, la cage d’escalier ressemblait à une simple succession de niveaux. Mais lors d’une deuxième exploration de l’espace, Venrooy et Goethals ont remarqué les contrastes spatiaux et les propriétés auditives : incidence de la lumière, ombres, dureté des matériaux, résonance et différence de hauteurs de son.

À l’aide de la méthode « point-ligne-surface », Refrakt relaie la fonctionnalité de la cage d’escaliers. Des haut-parleurs sont volontairement placés à des points précis et reliés par des lignes. Les concepteurs ont sélectionné des surfaces existantes et les ont retravaillées sur les plans auditif et visuel. Par des réflexions et des projections, ils créent une nouvelle interprétation auditive et architecturale de l’espace.

CYBERCORNER

(c) Paul Willaert

Avec le logiciel musical, créez des paysages sonores sur les iMacs de la Sound Factory. Pas besoin de plus pour mener ses expérimentations seul ou à deux. Que l’on soit spécialiste du son ou amateur, au bout de cinq minutes, chacun maîtrise !

OMNI | Patrice Moullet

Cette installation sonore colorée est une création de Patrice Moullet. L’OMNI ressemble à un champignon pastel à 108 facettes émaillées qui réagissent chacune différemment au toucher et font donc entendre un son unique. L’installation se compose d’une énorme base de données de bruits. Percussions, synthétiseurs, cuivres, sons électroniques sidéraux ou bits et bleeps analogiques : un vaste spectre sonore attend vos instructions. Recherchez des motifs ou des combinaisons et élaborez vos propres compositions. Grâce au vaste choix de sons, les possibilités de composition sont infinies.

Il a fallu 23 ans de recherche intensive avant de trouver un concept pertinent pour l’OMNI, après différents prototypes et essais. L’installation sonore associe créativité, technologie, fonctionnalité et design. D’un point de vue technique, les 108 facettes forment une interface spécialisée de samples, de synthétiseurs, de software et de hardware.

Kilo Ohm | Erwin Stache

Il y a de l’électricité dans l’air ! Les six tuyaux en métal d’Erwin Stache chatouillent le bout des doigts de plaisir.

Dans Kilo Ohm, bruit et mouvement vont main dans la main. Les tuyaux réagissant à la résistance électrique de la peau, le moindre contact produit un son spécifique. Comme la résistance diffère d’un individu à l’autre, on obtient toujours un résultat différent. Expérimentez en effleurant du doigt, en donnant un coup soudain et brusque ou en pinçant fort. Vous entendrez la différence. Jouez à deux ou trois, et écoutez ce qui se passe quand vous touchez votre voisin. Que vous utilisiez Kilo Ohm à la manière d’un piano, d’un tambour ou d’un mélange de sons ensorcelants, vous êtes le chef d’orchestre des tuyaux et découvrez leur vaste potentiel sonore.

Ateliers

Un atelier se compose de deux parties : la promenade auditive á travers l’ensemble du Concertgebouw et la séance active á la Sound Factory, toutes deux adaptées à l’áge des participants. Un atelier complet (promenade + séance active) dure amplement deux heures. L’enseignant reçoit au préalable un ensemble pédagogique sur l’origine, la fonction et l’architecture du Concertgebouw, qu’il est conseillé d’utiliser avant la visite. L’ensemble comprend aussi des tâches amusantes sur le son à réaliser en classe après la visite.

Promenade auditive dans l’ensemble du Concertgebouw

Le départ se donne dans la Salle de musique de chambre où le groupe peut se former une idée de l’acoustique ainsi que du fonctionnement et des fonctions du Concertgebouw. Dans la foulée, un exercice rythmique et une première initiation à la composition constituent la base des séances actives. Ensuite, une série d’expériences ont lieu dans le Foyer parterre, notamment au niveau des vibrations, la propagation et les différentes hauteurs du son. Toujours dans le même espace, on se concentre sur la diversité dans l’expérience du son.

On se rend ensuite dans la grande Salle de concert où le guide fournit des explications sur l’acoustique et l’expérience du son ainsi qu’une série de détails intéressants sur cet espace imposant. L’ascenseur vitré conduit ensuite au Balcon Parterre. En fixant les regards par la grande baie panoramique, le guide s’arrête aux divers champs sonores et aux différentes zones auditives dans une ville, du coup l’entrée idéale pour accéder à la façon dont les artistes sonores anciens et contemporains abordent les bruits concrets dans leurs œuvres. Iannis Xenakis avec CONCRET PH et Edgard Varèse avec Poème électronique illustrent à merveille ce propos car ces deux (brèves) compositions datant du début de l’art auditif plongent les participants dans un univers d’échantillons sonores et de bruits concrets. En outre, elles proposent le lien auditif et visuel parfait entre le son et l’architecture. Cette promenade animée se termine sur la terrasse située sur le toit, révélant clairement le contraste entre les bruits intérieurs entendus au cours de la dernière heure et les bruits extérieurs audibles sur la terrasse.

Séances actives à la Sound Factory

Chacune des séances actives comprend trois parties : CyberCorner, Kilo Ohm et OMNI. Le groupe est donc logiquement réparti en trois petits groupes dont l’un se met au programme musical GarageBand dans le Cybercorner, tandis que les deux autres se concentrent respectivement sur le Kilo Ohm et l’OMNI. Il y a un roulement de sorte que chaque participant puisse tout connaître.

CyberCorner
Les enfants ou adolescents travaillent individuellement ou par deux pour réaliser un paysage sonore en se laissant guider par le programme musical GarageBand et par l’accompagnateur de l’atelier qui les aide à choisir, à écouter où à cliquer sur certaines options. Les aînés opèrent le plus possible de façon autonome avec l’accompagnateur en soutien. L’installation donne la possibilité d’expérimenter avec des fragments audio, des filtres sonores, des échos ou encore des adjonctions de modèles et de rythmes au piano.

Kilo Ohm
Ici, l’expérimentation bat vraiment son plein ! Qu’est-ce qu’on entend en touchant et comment le son se modifie-t-il ? Quel bruit se dégage quand on saisit quelqu’un, voire tout le groupe ? On recherche ensuite des modèles, des rythmes, une longueur et une intensité. Et s’il reste un peu de temps, les enfants ou adolescents essaient de parvenir ensemble à une composition sonore.

OMNI
Avec l’OMNI, il s’agit d’abord d’expérimenter et de composer ensuite. Le groupe part d’un modèle répétitif auquel viennent s’ajouter successivement une nouvelle couche, d’autres modèles ou de brefs accents. Les variations sont innombrables. Diverses banques de données audio créent des ambiances séparées et divergentes : bruits de voix, musiques du monde, jazz, synthétiseurs… Tout ce qu’il faut pour une expédition auditive.

Bruggemuseum - Lantaarntoren

Concertgebouw Brugge - 't Zand 34, 8000 Brugge

Visite individuelle

Ouvert : tous les jours de 9h30 à 17h, fermé le lundi.

Tickets

Billets : 6 € / 5 € (réduction) / -26 ans: 1 € / -6 ans : gratuit
Gratuit aussi pour les résidents de Bruges, pour les élèves et les accompagnateurs (1 par 15 élèves) des écoles primaires et secondaires organisés en groupe scolaire, et pour les étudiants des instituts d’enseignement supérieur ou de formation continue à Bruges.

Réservez vos billets en ligne

Ateliers

Enfants et jeunes -26 ans: 65,00 € par groupe (maximum 25)
Uniquement le lundi: 9h30 – 11h35 et 13h30 – 15h30

Adultes: 150,00 € par groupe (maximum 15)
dès janvier 2013

Renseignements et rèservations par educatie@concertgebouw.be ou au +32 70 22 33 02 (lu-ve de 16h à 18h30)

Nieuws

Footer Concertgebouw Musea brugge bruggemuseum erfgoedcelbrugge musica vlaanderen vlaanderen brugge